facebook-logo  youtube logo  logo-insta  vk logo
logo gmi-ru

The house of the famous artist Abilkhan Kasteyev was gifted to the government by his family in March, 2004 to turn into a museum dedicated to the artist. That year was thought of as the year of Kasteyev and celebrations in honor of the 100th anniversary of his birth were held under the auspices of UNESCO. The house museum opened February 17, 2014.

The building is a single story, mid-century house, now a monument to history and culture, constructed on the orders of the Chairman of the Council of Ministers of the Kazakh SSR D.A. Kunaev in 1955 specifically for Kasteyev’s large family. In 1958, the artist and his family moved into that house, however in 1966 it was partially demolished and in its place a new home was built. A workshop was later added in 1968 where the artist created various works. Construction of the home was conducted by the main architect of the city of Almaty N. Orazimbetov. The house is located in the eastern part of Almaty on the Small Almatinka river on Bekhozhin street (formerly City Street). The house is preserved in its original form: a living room, 3 bedrooms, the art studio, kitchen, bathroom, veranda, and a garden attached to the house. The total area of the museum is 0.7 hectares, the total area of the house is 142.5 m2, of which the exhibition and exhibition area is 100 m2, the office area is 40 m2.

A. Kasteyev lived and worked in the house from 1958 till the end of his life - November 2, 1973. In the workshop, the artist created such canvases as “Sarbazy Amangeldy”, “Turksib”, “Kapchagai Hydroelectric Power Station”, “Kenen Azerbaev”, and numerous watercolor works. In the house artists, writers, poets, musicians, academics, students, countrymen, and many relatives gathered. They discussed art, urgent issues, and other pressing matters. The brightest members of the Kazakhstan intelligentsia were invited to this house: the composer Nurgisa Tlendiev, dancer Shara Zhiekulova, Uzbekistan artist Oral Tansikbaev, Kyrgyzstan artist Gappar Aytiev, cinematographer and director Iskender Tynyshpayev (son of the Kazakh public figure, member of Alashorda Mukhamedzhan Tynyshpayev), and many more. The famous Kasteev tea parties behind the samovar in the gazebo were not just for relaxing, they talked about art here, debated, discussed the latest achievements of culture, dreamed about the future of the country. This house received various foreign delegations: an American delegation led by Rockwell Kent, as well as delegation of artists from Armenia, Mongolia, and Hungary. The artists of the older generation were regulars of these creative tea parties: Khakimzhan Nauryzbaev, Moldahmet Kenbaev, Uke Azhiev, Sakhi Romanov, Aubakir Ismailov, Zhanatay Shardenov and many others.

In the House Museum exhibit, things from Kasteyev’s life are exhibited. Each exhibit is an object of the creative process or household goods: furniture, easel, household items, sketchbooks, drawers, handmade graphics made by A. Kasteev, photo materials, archival documents.

The A. Kasteev Heritage Research Center collects and studies the artistic heritage of Abylkhan Kasteev, enlightens and educates. A. Kasteyev’s House-Museum hosts various thematic events dedicated to the artist’s life and creative work. In addition to the permanent exhibition, exhibitions of children and youth art are exhibited, tours, and creative meetings with artists and other creative intelligentsia are held there.

Visiting Hours:
Tuesday 10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday 10:00 - 17:00
Thursday 10:00 - 16:00
Phone Inquiries - 8 (701) 453-86-95
House Museum A. Kasteyeva is at the address: Almaty, Bekhozhin Street, House 6-A
Telephone: 291-89-08

Supervisor - Guldariya Kasteyeva

facebook-logo  twitter logo  odnokl-logo  youtube logo  logo-insta  vk logo
logo gmi-ru

                         ДОМ – МУЗЕЙ  ХУДОЖНИКА  А. КАСТЕЕВА

Дом известного художника Абылхана Кастеева  передан государству семьей в марте 2004 года для открытия в нем музея художника. Этот год  считался годом А.Кастеева и  торжества в честь 100 летнего юбилея художника проходили под эгидой ЮНЕСКО. Дом-музей художника при Государственном Музее Искусств им.А.Кастеева с размещением в нем Центра по изучению наследия А.Кастеева был открыт 17 февраля 2014 года

Здание представляет собой одноэтажный дом  середины ХХ века, ныне памятник истории и культуры, построенный по указанию   Председателя Совета Министров Казахской ССР Д.А.Кунаева  в 1955 году (эту должность Кунаев Д.А. занимал с 1955 по 1960г.г.),  специально для большой семьи А.Кастеева. В 1958 г. художник вместе с семьей  переехал  в этот дом, однако, в 1966 году  был полностью снесен и на его месте был выстроен другой, а в 1968г. к дому была пристроена мастерская, где художником создавались разные художественные произведения. Строительство дома велось по проекту главного архитектора г.Алматы Оразымбетова Н. Дом расположен в восточной части г. Алматы за речкой Малая Алматинка по ул.Бекхожина (ранее ул.Городская). Дом сохранен в первоначальном виде: гостиная, 3 спальни, мастерская, кухня, ванная, веранда; к дому прилагается сад. Общая территория музея-0,7 га, общая площадь дома-142,5 м2, из них экспозиционно-выставочная-100м2, служебная- 40м2.

А.Кастеев жил и работал в  доме  с 1958г. до конца своей жизни – 2 ноября 1973г. В мастерской художником создавались такие полотна, как «Сарбазы Амангельды», «Турксиб», «Капчагайская  ГЭС», «Кенен Азербаев», многочисленные акварельные работы. В доме  собирались художники, артисты, писатели, поэты, музыканты, педагоги, студенты, журналисты,  земляки и многочисленные родственники.  В нем велись разговоры об искусстве, о насущных проблемах,  их разрешениях и многом другом. Этот дом посещали самые яркие представители казахской интеллигенции: известный композитор Нургиса Тлендиев,  танцовщица Шара Жиенкулова,   художник из Узбекистана Орал Тансыкбаев,  художник из Киргизии Гаппар Айтиев, кинооператор и кинорежиссер  - Искендир Тынышпаев   (сын Казахского общественного деятеля, члена «Алашорды» Мухамеджана Тынышпаева). Знаменитые кастеевские чаепития за самоваром в беседке были не просто отдыхом, здесь говорили об искусстве, дискутировали, обсуждали последние достижения культуры, мечтали о будущем страны. Этот дом принимал различные зарубежные делегации: американскую делегацию во главе с Рокуэл Кентом, делегацию деятелей искусства из Армении, Монголии, Венгрии. Художники старшего поколения были завсегдатаями этих творческих чаепитий: Хакимжан Наурызбаев, Молдахмет Кенбаев, Уке Ажиев, Сахи Романов, Аубакир Исмаилов, Жанатай Шарденов и многие  другие.

В экспозиции Дома-музея, представлены вещи и предметы А.Кастеева и членов его семьи. Каждый экспонат – предмет творческого процесса или домашнего обихода: мебель, мольберт, предметы быта, этюдники, ящики, удобные для хранения и перевозки графики, сделанные  А.Кастеевым  своими руками, фотоматериалы, архивные документы.

Центр по изучению наследия А.Кастеева занимается сбором и изучением художественного наследия Абылхана Кастеева, просветительской и образовательной деятельностью. В Доме-музее А.Кастеева проводятся различные тематические мероприятия, посвященные жизни  и творческой деятельности художника. Помимо постоянной экспозиции, экспонируются выставки детского и юношеского художественного творчества, проводятся экскурсии, творческие встречи с художниками и другой творческой интеллигенцией,

Часы работы:
Вторник 10:00 - 17:00
Среда 10:00 - 17:00
Четверг 10:00 - 16:00
Справки по телефону - 8 (701) 453-86-95

Дом-музей А.Кастеева находится по адресу: г.Алматы, ул.Бекхожина, дом № 6-А

Телефон 291-89-08

Руководитель - Гульдария Кастеева.